Skip navigation
The Australian National University

Our experts

Dr Peter Hendriks

Email: peter.hendriks@anu.edu.au
Phone: 6125 3206

Research interests: The history of Japanese language, the history of Japanese dialects, historical syntax and morphology, and acquisition of Japanese as a second language.

Dr Jennifer Hendriks

Email: jennifer.hendriks@anu.edu.au
Phone: 6125 3695

Research interests: Dutch, language contact, language change, philology

Professor Ariel Heryanto

Email: ariel.heryanto@anu.edu.au
Phone: 6125 3377

Research interests: Indonesian language and pop culture

Dr Gwendolyn Hyslop

Email: gwendolyn.hyslop@anu.edu.au
Phone:

Research interests: Tibeto-Burman languages, languages and linguistic prehistory of the Himalayas and South Asia, historical and areal linguistics, tone and tonogenesis, linguistic typology, the relationship between language, culture, and the mind

Mr Shun Ikeda

Email: shun.ikeda@anu.edu.au
Phone: 6125 4030

Research interests: Japanese language, education, culture and society, comparative education in Asia, and socio-linguistics (language policy and planning).

Dr Solène Inceoglu

Email: Solene.Inceoglu@anu.edu.au
Phone:

Research interests: L2 Speech Perception and Production, Audiovisual Speech Perception, L2 Pronunciation, Gesture and Non-verbal Aspects in Language Learning, Foreign Language Classroom Interaction, Eye-Tracking in SLA, Individual Differences in SLA.

Dr Shunichi Ishihara

Email: shunichi.ishihara@anu.edu.au
Phone: 6125 4656

Research interests: Experimental phonetics, speech and language processing.

Dr Evan Kidd

Email: evan.kidd@anu.edu.au
Phone:

Research interests: Psycholinguistics (Language Acquisition & Language Processing); Developmental Psychology; Social Cognition. Sentence processing in children and adults, the acquisition of complex sentences, the acquisition of verb argument structure and verbal morphology, how children deal with lexical and syntactic ambiguity in acquisition, and the role of symbolic play in language and socio-cognitive development. Dr Kidd conducts research on a number of languages, including English, German, Italian, Finnish, Cantonese, and Persian.

Dr Duck-Young Lee

Email: duck.lee@anu.edu.au
Phone: 6125 3205

Research interests: Japanese-Korean linguistics, spoken discourse, unique features of Japanese spoken conversation, phonology (government phonology).

Dr Peter Londey

Email: peter.londey@anu.edu.au
Phone: 6125 2912

Research interests:

Dr Susy Macqueen

Email: Susy.Macqueen@anu.edu.au
Phone:

Research interests: Applied Linguistics; Teaching and learning of additional languages; Lexicogrammatical patterning; Language assessment; Sociocultural theory; Emergence and complex systems approaches; Communication in heathcare contexts

Professor John Makeham

Email: John.Makeham@anu.edu.au
Phone: 6125 9509

Research interests: classical Chinese language

Dr Daniel Martin

Email: daniel.martin@anu.edu.au
Phone: 6125 2730

Research interests: Spanish

Dr Elisabeth Mayer

Email: elisabeth.mayer@anu.edu.au
Phone: 6125 4360

Research interests: Spanish and Andean Spanish, language contact and change, variation in nonstandardized dialects – specifically in syntax, mophology, information structure and interfaces, fieldwork data and formal theory, linguistic competence in language acquisition.

Dr Patrick McConvell

Email: patrick.mcconvell@anu.edu.au
Phone:

Research interests: The relationship between language, society and culture, interdisciplinary prehistory, and kinship.

Dr Li Narangoa

Email: li.narangoa@anu.edu.au
Phone: 6125 3201

Research interests: Japanese and Mongol political history, culture and literature.

Emeritus Professor Andrew Pawley

Email: andrew.pawley@anu.edu.au
Phone: 6125 3270

Research interests: Austronesian and Papuan languages and cultures, the prehistory of Pacific Island peoples, folk taxonomies and ethnobiology, lexicography, phraseology and idiomaticity.

Dr George Quinn

Email: George.Quinn@anu.edu.au
Phone:

Research interests: literature and popular culture of contemporary Java; Javanese language

Ms Lihong Rambeau

Email: Lihong.Rambeau@anu.edu.au
Phone:

Research interests: Chinese language

Dr Johanna Rendle-Short

Email: johanna.rendle-short@anu.edu.au
Phone: 6125 4677

Research interests: Analysis of Discourse, Conversation Analysis, Applied Conversation Analysis, Talk-in-interaction, Embodied discourse, Discourse as it relates to Language Teaching and Learning, Cross-cultural approaches to Language Teaching and Learning, Sociolinguistics.

Updated: 15 December 2017/ Responsible Officer:  Head, School of Literature, Languages and Linguistics / Page Contact:  Web publisher