Skip navigation
The Australian National University

Our experts

Dr Ali Aldahesh

Email: ali.aldahesh@anu.edu.au
Phone: 6125 5483

Research interests:

Professor Kent Anderson

Email: kent.anderson@anu.edu.au
Phone: 6125 5125

Research interests: In addition to private international law and insolvency, he teaches a variety of Japanese law courses including a cross-listed introductory course, an advanced seminar, a language course on reading Japanese legal materials, a moot arbitration and negotiation in Japan course, and an intensive graduate course in Kyoto. His research has focused on Japanese insolvency, conflict of laws, and recently the introduction of Japan's new quasi-jury system (saiban-in seido).

Dr I Wayan Arka

Email: wayan.arka@anu.edu.au
Phone: +61 2 6125 2278

Research interests: Austronesian and Papuan languages of Eastern Indonesia, language typology, syntactic theory, language documentation.

Dr Thai Bao

Email: bao.thai@anu.edu.au
Phone: 6125 3440

Research interests: Second-language acquisition, contrastive linguistics, cross-cultural negotiation, and issues of economic development.

Dr Ruth Barraclough

Email: ruth.barraclough@anu.edu.au
Phone: 6125 3438

Research interests: Korean language

Dr Richard Barz

Email: richard.barz@anu.edu.au
Phone: 6125 3152

Research interests: Hindi, distance education, analysis of the Islamic Avadhi terminology in Manjhan's Madhumalati.

Dr Peter Brown

Email: peter.brown@anu.edu.au
Phone: 6125 2768

Research interests: French

Dr Duncan Campbell

Email: duncan.campbell@anu.edu.au
Phone: 6125 8233

Research interests: classical Chinese language, literary translation, letter writing and diaries, travel writing, aspects of print culture, libraries, biographical and autobiographical writing

Dr Piera Caroli

Email: piera.carroli@anu.edu.au
Phone: 6125 2833

Research interests: The role of literary texts in second language teaching and learning, intercultural pedagogy and contemporary Italian narrative

Mr William Che

Email: william.che@anu.edu.au
Phone: 6125 0876

Research interests: Cantonese language

Professor Hyaeweol Choi

Email: hyaeweol.choi@anu.edu.au
Phone: 6125 6476

Research interests: Korean language; film

Professor Robert Cribb

Email: robert.cribb@anu.edu.au
Phone: 61254247

Research interests: Indonesian history; Dutch sources materials for historical research

Dr Manuel Delicado Cantero

Email: Manuel.Delicado@anu.edu.au
Phone: 6125 2833

Research interests: Spanish syntax, formal syntax, historical linguistics, historical syntax, Spanish historical syntax, language change and variation, dialect syntax, bilingualism and code-switching. Current research projects: -Prepositions and finite clauses -The combination of determiners and finite CPs -Adjectives in code-switching -Focus marking in Caribbean Spanish -Binominal constructions in Spanish -Dialect syntax

Dr Anthony Diller

Email: anthony.diller@anu.edu.au
Phone: 6125 8326

Research interests: Thai language and linguistics.

Dr Mark Donohue

Email: mark.donohue@anu.edu.au
Phone: 6125 3147

Research interests: Austronesian languages, Papuan languages, morphosyntax, phonology, historical and areal linguistics, linguistic typology. Current projects: the social history of Island Southeast Asia and Melanesia, as revealed through areal linguistic research; ongoing fieldwork on Austronesian and Papuan languages of Indonesia and Papua New Guinea (focussing on Tukang Besi, Palu'e, Ambai [Austronesian], Skou, Damal, One [Papuan])

Dr Chris (J.C.) Eade

Email: chriseade@actewagl.net.au
Phone: 6248 8686

Research interests: Early Javanese Inscriptions.

Professor Nicholas Evans

Email: nicholas.evans@anu.edu.au
Phone: 6125 0028

Research interests: Linguistic diversity and its implications for general linguistic theory, the grammar of psychosocial cognition, grammatical and semantic typology, historical linguistics, contact and areal linguistics, the effects of culture on the emergence of language structure, the pragmatics/semantics interface, and the use of linguistic evidence in native title claims. Specific language interests include Kayardild, Bininj Gun-wok (Mayali), Dalabon, Iwaidja, Ilgar, Marrku, Golin, Nen, and Mundari.

Dr Bethwyn Evans

Email: bethwyn.evans@anu.edu.au
Phone: +61 2 6125 0300

Research interests: Language In Culture And Society (Sociolinguistics), Language In Time And Space (Incl. Historical Linguistics, Dialectology, Linguistic Structures (Incl. Grammar, Phonology, Lexicon, Semantics), Pacific Languages

Dr Shengyu Fan

Email: Shengyu.Fan@anu.edu.au
Phone:

Research interests: Chinese Translation

Dr Alex Francois

Email: alexandre.francois@anu.edu.au
Phone: 6125 1664

Research interests: phonological systems and sound change; typology of polysemy and lexical semantics; pragmatics of face-to-face conversation; historical linguistics; language geography and areal phenomena; verbal art, folkloristics, ethnomusicology

Updated: 23 March 2017/ Responsible Officer:  Head, School of Literature, Languages and Linguistics / Page Contact:  Web publisher